3 reasons I decline most LinkedIn invites from recruiters

Dear Recruiters,

Thanks for your invite to join your network on LinkedIn. Let us get a few things straight….

1. Who are you?
There are about 7 billion people on the earth, saying ‘I’d like to add you to my professional network on LinkedIn.’ doesn’t make you more than a random person out of these billions of people, I see almost daily an invite saying exactly the same, it doesn’t make you stand-out.

It would be useful if you told me who you are – no your inflated list of jobs description on your LinkedIn profile doesn’t help.

2. Why you?
Ahh you are a recruiter, but there are currently 19,823 recruitment agencies in UK, I can’t connect in a meaningful way with every recruiter in every agency.

It would be useful if you told why it is relevant to network with you and not somebody else. IT professionals with many years of experience get 3-5 network requests every week.

3. What will you add?
It may surprise you, but real networking is not about having a collection of addresses (and certainly not a list of random people). Saying ‘I’d like to add you to my professional network on LinkedIn.’ doesn’t tell me what you will add to my network. Networking is a two way process and not a channel for pushing (read: advertising) contract opportunities – the job boards already do that – and do it better than LinkedIn. Posting contract opportunity isn’t adding any value, it just pollutes my news feed. Most of the ‘opportunities’ will not be relevant, I might be looking for a new contract once or twice a year, the other 364 days of posts are totally irrelevant.

It would be useful if you told what you will add to my network – there is no lack of recruiters that claim they want to network, but there is a scarcity of recruiter that actually add value to my network.

Conclusion
So, you are a random person I never have been in touch with and you give me no reason why I should consider you over somebody else and you don’t give an idea what value you will add. Surprised I hit decline??

One last thing
Just saying ”I’d like to add you to my professional network on LinkedIn.’, shows you have made no effort, what to ever,  to answer even the most basic questions required for networking – it is hard to believe  you are serious about networking, so decline.

Leave a Reply

